Guitar Practice

After almost two weeks of not being able to play, I got in three days of practice this past week and had a fairly disastrous lesson on Friday. Thank God Rick is a patient man! The reason I wasn’t practicing is because I had what is called “trigger finger,” an inflamed tendon in the little finger of my left hand. The swollen tendon won’t pass smoothly through the sheath to allow the finger to bend and straighten. After struggling with it for a few weeks I went to the orthopedist and got a cortizone shot to reduce the inflammation, but it took a full two weeks for the triggering to stop. Until then, I couldn’t stretch my left little finger to fret the notes on the guitar because it irritated the tendon.

However! That seems to be over now, and I’m starting a new set of arpeggios for daily practice. I also am using Carulli’s “Waltz” as a warm-up piece. The new piece I am learning is an exercise based on a theme by Vivaldi that is very pretty if played correctly. Unfortunately, it’s really hard for me because I have small hands and the stretch to finger some of the chords is really difficult. Nevertheless, I will soldier on with it because I like the music. I hope that by next week it doesn’t sound as much like the dog’s dinner as it did at my last lesson. We’ll see.

  1. #1 by Beth Kehoe on January 29, 2012 - 10:17 pm

    I’m glad that you’re able to play again, Celia.

Leave a Reply

